Play Records / Dubs

Dubs / International record label for house, electronic & dance music


Hotknife vs Mister Tee


Designed with the DJ in mind, Dubs takes Hotknife vs Mister Tee's debut funky-disco house album and turns it on its head, converting each track into a 12-inch dub mix.

"Outside of dance music, dub reggae is one of my favourite genres," says producer Hotknife. "I love all the original dub masters - King Tubby, Lee Scratch Perry, Prince Jammy. The first ever remixers."

Applying the same rules of those masters, Hotknife has extended each track to club mix-length and given them all a heavier groove that takes listeners on a party anthem journey. He adds, "DJ’s like Larry Levan, who used to dub disco records, definitely had an influence here."

So get your back up of the wall and shake your butt to these dubbed beats for sexy feets.

  1. Rapid Love (Rapid Dub Mix)
  2. Magical (Dub Mix)
  3. Can't Take My F**king Eyes Off You (Dub Mix)
  4. Breakfast (Dub Mix)
  5. Take A Stand (Dub Mix)
  6. Up (Dub Mix)
  7. I Want You To Know (Dub Mix)
  8. Can't Get Enough (Dub Mix)
  9. Pickin' Up What I'm Puttin' Down (Dub Mix)
  10. Higher (Dub Mix)
  11. Confidence (Dub Mix)
  12. All Night Long (Dub Mix)